OHSAS 18001:2007/ ISO 45001 (Occupational Health and Safety Assessment Series)

OHSAS 18001/ ISO 45001 is a voluntary standard that aims at implementing a rigorous and effective occupational health and safety management at an organisation level, and to harmonise relevant existing regulation at an international level. OHSAS 18001/ ISO 45001 identifies regulations on occupational health and safety issues, towards reducing risks, professional accidents and establishing the requirements for a safe working environment. OHSAS 18001/ ISO 45001 certification guarantees that the organisation has implemented an occupational health and safety management system. The system is based on the identification and risks assessment of the installations, products and elaboration processes. Regular audits are required to check implementation of measures to improve safety conditions in the workplace.

OHSAS comprises two parts:

  • OHSAS 18001 v. 2007 is the certifiable Occupation health and safety management system standard;
  • OHSAS 18002 v. 2000 is the Implementation guide to assist the implementation of OHSAS 18001.

The standard foresees 12 steps:

  • Diagnostic of the organisation H&S aspects
  • Risk assessment
  • Identification of legal and other requirements
  • Definition of the health and safety policy
  • Implementation of a safety management system; Indicators specifications
  • Providers and beneficiaries evaluation
  • Technical and regulatory assessments
  • Trainings (training, internal audits, emergency preparedness, employees information, etc)
  • Elaboration of a manual, documentation system, procedures validation
  • Implementation of an OHSAS Committee by a safety representative
  • Preparation and development of internal audits
  • Eventual integration in quality and environmental systems


Get in touch to arrange a free initial meeting or to find out more